Phew, that was close.

Well it’s the night before I head off to Birmingham to pitch NoteDump and I have to say I’m rather excited.

After doing an all nighter last night I managed to get all of the work done on the project that I wanted to – Boom!

Today I decided to upgrade the server so it could cope with higher amounts of traffic. I contacted my project administrators and luckily they were available to change the billing permissions for me so I could make the server upgrade purchase (thanks guys!). I made the purchase and waited patiently whilst my was data migrated over to the new server.

30 minutes later the server migration was complete and so I booted it up hoping that I wouldn’t need to make any changes to it. By default, my web server should start automatically as this is how I set it up. However, this time it didn’t. I was pretty worried that something bad had happened!

The error shown in my console window looked something like this:

(98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address [::]:80
(98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs
Action ‘start’ failed

I spent 3 hours reading through server file configurations and on Google. Everything looked good to me (not that I understand half of the stuff going on in the config files). So I started to panic.

I eventually solved the problem by finding a command that allowed me to find which processes were listening on server ports.

Here I am now writing this post with a smile on my face – NoteDump now has TWICE the amount of server power now. Woo!

Just for the record, this is how I fixed the error:

netstat -antp | grep 80

sudo kill -9 [process_id]

I still don’t understand what the root cause of this error was. I don’t have any other services running on port 80, so who know what happened there? I’m pretty sure it has something to do with my SSL certificate as this is the last thing I configured.

Time to practice my presentation for a few hours and attempt to have an early night – 6am start tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

